PDA

View Full Version : New To Lifting

Mclaren
07-30-2007, 02:34 PM
hey guys, im new to lifting, i just turned 17 and got a workout bench for my birthday, there is this little sample resistance program that came with it but i feel it aint gonna work out. I could really use some advice, cause i wanna bulk up. like what workouts would be best or if you guys know of a good workout program to go by for begginers. k any constructive criticism would be appreciated. much help needed.

o and how would i find my BF %? thanks again guys.

Questor
07-30-2007, 02:41 PM
You can buy a pair of calipers cheap, online or in a drug store, and they'll tell you your bf %.

There are several good workouts around here. Search for WBB 1.1, WBB I, II, III, and BGB.

If you're skinny eat hearty. If you're fat, eat not so hearty. Eat lots of protein, less carb.

Rest. Repeat.

Mclaren
07-30-2007, 02:44 PM
which of those would be best for a begginer or would u say any of them?

Bako Lifter
07-30-2007, 02:47 PM
WBB 1, or you can even look up the "Starting Strength Program" on google, that's probably the best routine to build up a good strength base.

Questor
07-30-2007, 02:51 PM
I'd go with WBB I, or WBB 1.1, as a beginner.

Bako Lifter
07-30-2007, 02:54 PM
I'd go with WBB I, or WBB 1.1, as a beginner.

I remember Rich McGuire having a tough time with 1.1, you'll also need to max out before hand to get accurate percentages that are used during the routine. So it might be a little difficult for a true beginner imo.

Questor
07-30-2007, 02:56 PM
Oh, good points, I hadn't heard about Rich's problems, nor had I thought about the 1rm thing.

Mclaren
07-30-2007, 03:08 PM
k thanks guys, and another thing, whats a good number of calories to take in per day? and i know i could find this out through research, but im short for time at the moment, and was wondering how do you find your RM.

Bako Lifter
07-30-2007, 03:16 PM
www.Fitday.com