PDA

View Full Version : Going Westside, need help.

sharkall2003
08-02-2007, 01:08 PM
I've looked online for stuff on Westside training and I found some good credible advice, but every site shows something different. For instance, what days to train, what exercises to do, etc. I was wondering if I could get some help with the setting up of a routine. I know that my abs and lower back are my weak points for sure. I struggle doing pulups, so I would think that my lats are pretty weak too. I have a 405 deadlift, 250 bench, and a 295 squat. I've been lifting more on the lines of bodybuilding with 8-10 repetitions with about 15-20 sets per day. My squat is low, so I think I need to work on my hamstrings, and through the reading i've done these are the weaknesses I have found. Any advice that would help me set up a routine that would help make me stronger would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Lones Green
08-02-2007, 01:22 PM
i'm still new to westside, but i think i can answer some of your questions. first off, louie simmons says if you want a higher squat, work hips. not so much quads. westside is 4 days, and its usually done like this.
day 1- me bench
day 2-me squat
day 3-off
day 4-de bench
day 5-de squat

usually done with a 1 day break in the middle. i've definetely still been sore from squats when i hit the DE squat day, but i haven't been questioning it, i've still seen some pretty monster gains on my squat (from about 315-450 since i started westside.) for lats, i say row heavy. read all the articles on westside and the answers to all these questions are in there, somewhere.

Bako Lifter
08-02-2007, 02:01 PM
Yep, read all of the articles on www.westside-barbell.com

bigmoney
08-02-2007, 02:02 PM
this should help you out:
http://deepsquatter.com/strength/archives/newdeep/louie2.htm

and

http://www.elitefts.com/articles/article-faq/default.asp

Chubrock
08-02-2007, 02:08 PM