PDA

View Full Version : Adding a 3rd squat/deadlift day?

deeder
08-21-2007, 01:38 PM
Hey everyone, I've been doing a 5 day routine for a few months now and I feel I could be progressing a little quicker in my squat and deadlift. The routine I've been doing is roughly as follows:

Monday: Speed Bench, Floor Press, Millitary Press, Neutral grip Pullups

Tuesday: Sumo deadlift, speed squats, biceps, abs

Wednesday: Leg Up Bench, Board Press, Lateral Raises, Rows

Friday: Squat, SL deadlift, biceps, abs

Saturday: Close Grip Bench, iso tricep movement, Rear Delt raises, Pullups

For my main exercise of each day (except the speed bench day) I've been doing 3 week mini-cycles where I'll work up to a new PR for sets of 3, 5, 8 and as of last week 10 reps on the last week.

I'm thinking of doing a seperate speed squat day. So my tuesday workout would become:

Sumo deadlift, front squat, biceps, abs

and I'd have another workout somewhere in there that would look like:

Speed squats, Light Glute ham raises or maybe GM's, isolation quad exercise, a little bit of hip work (stuff with bands, stretching, etc. just to stay healthy)

Ok, so first, I need opinion on whether or not you guys think adding a speed squat day would be a good idea and if I should change around what I'm doing that day.

Now, here's the layout I am thinking of:

Monday: Speed Bench
Tuesday: Deadlift
Wednesday: Off
Thursday: Speed Squat
Friday: Leg Up Bench
Saturday: Squat
Sunday: Close Grip Bench

I've been doing 5 days a week for quite some time and responding very well to it. I think I can handle another lower body day and would like to see what kind of results I could get from it. As you can tell, the volume of each workout is pretty low so I don't think I'll be over training.

Ok guys (and gals!), tear this apart.

TommyBoy
08-21-2007, 02:12 PM
I personally think you're trying to do too much......but that's me, I don't know your body.

Adam
08-21-2007, 02:13 PM
I'll just give you a short answer.