PDA

View Full Version : 2 mile runners workout???Need advice, resultless in search

nddillon
08-29-2007, 12:34 PM
A guy I train with is in ROTC and is looking to bulk up. He is 6'2'' 140, he has the smallest frame I have ever seen on anyone in my entire life. Believe it or not he has some muscle on him. He is looking to bulk up however he also is in a competition for the ROTC's officer program and wants to break the record for the 2 mile run which is like high 9's if I recall. I have no experience with runners and thought you guys would share the knowledge. Basically he is looking for advice on routine, and things to do or not do.

I simply suggested a Starting Strength style program and continue running 2.5 miles to improve his time; although, like I said, I have no experience with runners.

redFury
08-29-2007, 01:32 PM
Running mile repeats, Ladders, and 400m sprints workouts would really help. High 9s is gonna be really hard to break. If you can give me more description on his times right now and routine, maybe we can see if it's possible. I've got a fair bit of track experience as my brothers and I were state caliber sprint - middle distance runners.

nddillon
08-29-2007, 09:34 PM
Oh he can do it, he has before. Right now he is runnin 10:15-30 conseculatively (spelling) He has 11 months to train. I was more concerned about him bulking up as far as overall muscle; however any advice would be great.

redFury
08-29-2007, 10:30 PM
distance running really isnt going to be conducive to bulking... but his nutrition is obviously the key. Putting on weight in general is really going to affect his running as well. Can you be more specific on his goals and what he's doing now? What issues he's concerned about and/or finds important?

Bikkstah
08-30-2007, 12:13 AM