PDA

View Full Version : Bulk question(s)

scumbag
09-13-2007, 12:24 AM
Ok i am quite new to lifting but i've been trying to eat/lift as much as i can. I started about 4 months ago at 153lbs (6ft) and i'm now at around 180-183lbs. i've visibly gotten bigger but one problem is that i have a freaking belly now. i still want to get a bit (or much) bigger but not liking the belly. Is that a somewhat "normal" by-product of bulking?

i'm eating a lot of chicken breast, beef, turkey, nat pbutter, cottage cheese, whey protein, egg whites, yogurt, soy milk, brown rice, veggies and fruit. I think I eat healthy but my brother says i'm fat haha

is this normal or should i be changing my diet? Using fitday i'm eating around 3500-4000 calories a day.

ps. oh and any tips on adding thickness to my upper back thanks guys

scumbag
09-13-2007, 12:44 AM
oh and how do i find MY maintenance level of calories? is there some calculator or something?? probably a very dumb question

Spartan936
09-13-2007, 12:44 AM
If you want to get bigger/stronger, go ahead. It sounds like you're making good gains. Fat gain is inevitable. You could post some pictures and get estimates on your bodyfat %.

If you want more upper back thickness, do more rowing movements.

Spartan936
09-13-2007, 12:45 AM
oh and how do i find MY maintenance level of calories? is there some calculator or something?? probably a very dumb question

There's all kinds of calculators, but the only true way to do it is to count them for a week, and see if you gain or lose any by the end of the week.

scumbag
09-13-2007, 12:57 AM
i'm sure fat gain is inevitable but i'm talking my belly a little more than slightly sticks out now, i've gained ok size i guess but my stomach is really starting to worry me like i won't be able to lose it later on...and i've always had a 6 pack really lean build...just worrying and hard to look at lol

monkeyarms
09-13-2007, 07:08 AM