PDA

View Full Version : Designing First Routine

Blacksmith
10-06-2007, 11:09 AM
I'm relatively new to powerlifting, I'm going to join the powerlifting team around may, but right now I am in a strength training class. I already have my percent programs for Bench, Squat, Deadlift, Clean. I have to design a routine to start Monday. The problem I am having is that I have to do everything twice a week so I'm not sure how quite to set that up. I was thinking something like:

Mon-Bench(one or two assistance exercises)
Squat(one or two assistance exercises)

Tue-Clean(one or two assistance exercises)
Deadlift(one or two assistance exercises)

Wed- Anything that I think should be in my routine but I don't have time for any other workout

Thur-Same as Monday except different assistance exercises

Fri-Same as Tuesday but with different assistance exercises

Now I'm not sure how good this plan is which is why I'm asking for advice. Also if this is good enough, I do still need help on choosing the assistance exercises.

Thanks in advance for any help.

redFury
10-06-2007, 08:20 PM
I might suggest WBB1,2,3 and BGB for a program... Squatting, benching, and deadlifting heavy twice a week is not a great idea for most because of overtraining.

prizeoasis
10-06-2007, 08:28 PM
I might suggest WBB1,2,3 and BGB for a program... Squatting, benching, and deadlifting heavy twice a week is not a great idea for most because of overtraining.

yea, tell that to westsiders.

and what exactly do any of the WBB or BGB programs have to do with powerlifting? hint, it starts with N and ends with OTHING

Unholy
10-06-2007, 08:34 PM
I agree with Prize even though he sounds like a Douche, try a 5x5 routine or something like westside.

Are you just new to PLing op? Or to weightlifting in general. If the later then Red might be right.

Blacksmith
10-06-2007, 09:35 PM
I'm not new to weightlifting at all just powerlifting

Mike G
10-06-2007, 10:11 PM
yea, tell that to westsiders.