PDA

View Full Version : Eh, here's a bench video

berfles
10-10-2007, 10:53 PM
Nothing impressive because it's my weakest lift, but when I started lifting again about 7 months ago I started out having trouble with repping 140lbs. Hell, in July I couldn't even do 195x1. I guess I got a little better. This is a new max record of 210lbs for me, I've only had one chest workout with the new wider grip. This is also after a shoulder workout tonight and a bunch of trial reps with other weights, plus it's almost 1AM here so that would probably account for the shaky arm. Kind of annoying, but I know I can do better than that.

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b251/jfindon/th_DSCN6798.jpg (http://s21.photobucket.com/albums/b251/jfindon/?action=view&current=DSCN6798.flv)

How is my form? I never really thought about it. I wish I would be at at least 225lbs, that's what I consider the entry level of having a decent bench weight. And would chest soreness limit me at all? I'm still pretty sore from Monday.

Herandi
10-11-2007, 04:19 AM
this is your wider grip? it still looks pretty narrow to me, but maybe someone else can second that...

leetuck
10-11-2007, 05:40 AM
Yeh... I grip as wide as that (i think) and I don't feel like I'm gripping wide at all.

Stumprrp
10-11-2007, 06:38 AM
very smooth strong rep man, great job.

berfles
10-11-2007, 09:40 AM
As I said, it's my first attempt with a wider grip, I was using a standard bench before and could only go shoulder width. I'm slowly widening the grip when I feel comfortable, not just going from shoulder width to having my fingers outside the ring.

Thanks Stump. It's a start.

SW
10-11-2007, 10:26 AM
Great lift!

I think maybe you're flaring your elbows a bit.

berfles
10-11-2007, 10:32 AM
Great lift!

I think maybe you're flaring your elbows a bit.

"Flaring" always confused me, do you mean my elbows are too close to my body or too far away? Or something different?

Rusty
10-11-2007, 11:02 AM