PDA

View Full Version : Giving this a go...

Hatred
11-20-2007, 01:12 PM
I've always trained like a powerlifter but never focused.
I'm finding that the satisfaction that comes from setting a goal, nailing it and moving on to the next is what I need now to focus in the gym and be happy.
I'm starting off with the following lifts.
Raw bench 365
Raw Conventional Deadlift 505
Squat (belt) 405
I'm 6'0" 254

I've worked around a lower back injury for some time and have built my squat back up to where it is now. I'd like to get it back up to 500 and beyond.

I'm forgetting everything I know and starting over in this section of the forum a complete newb. I may participate in a meet... who knows. For now I'm putting on weight so I might as well make the most of it.

Chubrock
11-20-2007, 01:14 PM
Hellz yea.

garjagan
11-20-2007, 01:26 PM
This is definately a more productive forum section. Less filler.

All the best with those goals.

mickyjune26
11-20-2007, 02:06 PM
tear it up hatred. You got it in you from what I've seen around here.

Hatred
11-20-2007, 02:12 PM
This is definately a more productive forum section. Less filler.

All the best with those goals.

Goals?
Them's my current lifts there broseph.
My goals are:
a 405 bench.
600 deadlift.
500 squat.

Chubrock
11-20-2007, 02:37 PM
So have you thought about what kind've split you want to follow?

Hatred
11-20-2007, 02:40 PM
Anything worth doing is worth doing well. I see Westside thrown around a lot and well. hell I might as wel try that.

I really have NO idea. I'm reading all this crap about bands and boards and foam and I feel like I did almost 10,000 posts ago. lol

So do people really use BOARDS on their chest?
God i'm so ignorant.

Chubrock
11-20-2007, 02:42 PM
Some people swear by doing board presses. Others swear by just doing a lot of floor presses or CGBP. The Westside methods have worked for plenty of people. Give them a shot. Do a lot of reading over at EliteFTS. They've got a couple of "Intro to WS" articles.