PDA

View Full Version : The most humbling lift... the OH squat

BFGUITAR
01-07-2008, 03:31 PM
I tried doing them recently after my workout (I always do these things for fun and to keep my motivated). And man, as I'm descending with just the bar above my head I can feel my whole body just crumbling under the weight. I end up falling forward and unable to hold the bar over my head when so low. If you havent tried them, try it. Sure you can easily squat 300+ pounds but this is a whole different ball game.

Im just wondering what you guys do to practice this. Perhaps a wider grip to help keeping it above me?

Im very new to this type of squat so any help would be appreciated.

ryuage
01-07-2008, 03:39 PM
due to my shoulders inability to be flexible I practice with the bar only ... haha

RedSpikeyThing
01-07-2008, 03:55 PM
I've only done them a few times, but I prefer a snatch grip. They are very hard.

SDS
01-07-2008, 04:00 PM
I've recently started doing a single OH DB squat. I hold a 20lb DB over my head, and a 40lb DB to the side, and squat. 2 sets left hand up, 2 sets right hand up. 10 reps per set hits the core pretty good.

tomv
01-08-2008, 03:51 AM
The best warmup exercise by far IMO and yes very humbling. Because I trained as an OLY lifter for a little while my OH Squat grip is quite wide though I can't think of where on the bar I put them... I just know when I'm there lol. A Snatch grip basically.

Fuzzy
01-08-2008, 04:38 AM
Im collar to collar when i snatch, good ol' long arms (not really jerking is a bitch)

Though try clean grip overhead squats.... yikes!

Or even better, a psyco full snatch, basicaly a full snatch with a clean grip.

Max Thunder
01-08-2008, 07:24 AM
I used to do them and worked my way up to 185 for 10 reps, but then I hurt my left shoulder, not in a way than impaired any other exercise but it hurt to flex the arm too far.