PDA

View Full Version : My Maximum Mass Stack experience

Bernard Hsu
01-10-2008, 10:54 PM
I am a 19 year old lifter who has been lifting for 2 years. I played football in high school my senior year of high school (got my ass kicked everyday) and took up lifting seriously after a local SLP bench/deadlift competition in June 2007.

I started reading everything I could about training and nutrition, and I came upon AtLargeNutrition. I had tried some supplements when I started lifting with my friends. Some EAS whey protein, some generic fruit punch flavored creatine, GNC mass gainer, Xport whey isolate mix. I saw progress from these supplements, but there was something missing. I used these supplements at a time when I was losing weight (during football season in late 2006) and I had no idea why my weight kept dropping. Nothing could stop my weight loss. My lifts were being negatively affected. At this time, I had a 205 bench press for 2 reps, 225 squat for 3 reps, and a 315 deadlift for 1 rep, all at a whopping 151 pounds.

Fast forward to June 2007 at the bench/deadlift competition. I got a 255 shirted bench press and a 405 suited deadlift at 165 pounds, 18-19 year old division. In the gym, I had a raw 225 bench for 1, and a slow 365 deadlift for 1 raw. Needless to say, 2 people did worse than me in the bench: a seemingly untrained woman who competed only for the sake of her husband and a 5 year old boy who was there because his dad set a state record. From this point, I decided I needed just more protein in my diet to make my lifts go up. From this, I consumed about 92 grams of whey protein a day. In August 2007, after consuming all that whey protein for 2 months in a row, my lifts made minimal gains. My deadlift was still 365 for 1 and slow and my bench was 245 for 1 and I was at around 170 pounds.