PDA

View Full Version : So I Think I wanna be a powerlifter....need a lil' advice..

arnoldsclone
02-01-2008, 05:30 PM
I need some advice on how I can get into the powerlifting scene. The thing is I always wanted to be a bodybuilder and whent from 300 lbs and fat down to 200 lbs and as cut as ever and as big as ever (muscle wise anyway lol) , and my gut just sags and is covered in stretchmarks and hangs,, I have veins on my shoulders, chest, arms, calfs etc. but my gut wil never leave me........:drooling:

So why not be a Powerlifter?? I like to eat lol, and I like to be BIG in general.....not to mention I've been bulking for a few months and am at 230 lbs......I have gotten an affinity for lifting heavy and doing 5 by 5 routines and have gotten stronger than I've ever been in my life.....I live in clifton park ny......i wouldn't mind traveling a couple hours to meets.....where can I start, is there raw competitions?? Do I have to have a suit??

Klotz
02-01-2008, 05:51 PM
There should be raw competitions, and if not you can just go to a geared comp without gear; you'll just place low.

Eat a lot, but don't use powerlifting as an excuse to get fat.

Sensei
02-01-2008, 06:47 PM
powerliftingwatch.com has a list of competitions I think. Most of the bigger federations have competitions throughout the U.S. I've kind of lost track of what there are these days but look for USAPL, USAPF, APF, NASA, Raw, AAU, etc... You can also check the magazine Powerlifting USA for meet listings.

You don't need a squat suit or bench shirt, but for most federations you will need some kind of singlet - you can go w. a wrestling singlet, or you can buy one from a powerlifting attire company like Inzer, Titan, or distributors like House of Pain.

As far as "placing low" - I wouldn't worry about it. A lot of competitions have so many weight, age, experience, and drug-use categories, sometimes it's pretty hard NOT to place high - if you care about that...

HP666
02-02-2008, 01:21 PM