PDA

View Full Version : new lifters:

Lones Green
02-06-2008, 06:01 PM
I was recently talking to a friend about powerlifting. The conversation we had inspired me to write a few words. I write this because I wish I had someone to tell me these things about the world of weightlifting when i first started. I don't write this because I think i'm qualified some kind of professional, I write soely because I am inspired to. I started lifting weights around the age of 16, when I signed up for a weightlifting class in high school. At 16, i had a bodyweight of 230 lbs (6'2), a bench press of 95 lbs, and didn't train squat or deadlift. Obviously I was no Andy Bolton, nor did i know who he was. I loved lifting weights. Honestly I was never the bodybuilding type. I just liked lifting as a way to channel my energy, and thought of it as a positive way to channel my energy. At one point, i was lifting 2-3 times a day. I did this because I wanted to (and i had just got my liscense...woo freedom!). I felt like i was at a standstill in my lifting. Bench press and bicep curls 3 times a day wasn't cutting it anymore. I felt the need to set some goals. I looked at some of the top bodybuilders. I saw short, stocky guys, with small waists and small joints. I looked at myself and saw a tall, long jointed teenager with a naturally big gut. I was dommed in that field from day 1! I surfed the web looking for answers. (I think this is where most kids make their first mistake, I just got lucky.) I stumbled upon WBB. I posted my routine, and the responses I recieved embarassed me. Instead of saying f*** them, I looked into what members told me. They were right. I shouldn't do curls 3 times a day (or 3 times a month for that matter). I managed to get a decent routine, and a decent diet. I made quite good progress. I reached the goals i set for myself (315 BP, 300 lb BW, 500 squat) and it made me feel great. I plan to keep this mindset until I am 6 feet under. I am entering my first powerlifting m