PDA

View Full Version : pre-meet training and bench advice for a raw lifter

justen caputo
02-09-2008, 12:09 PM
hey,what's up guys.just wondering if you guys could help me out here.i'm training for the usapl raw challenge at the arnold classic in 3 weeks.i've maxed out on all my lifts so far and i'm tapering it down right now.my question is what type of pre-meet training do you guys suggest for a hopefully perfect meet.i've been competing for 5 years now and i thought i'd take some advice from some good lifters.speed work,light weight etc.training has been great so far.any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. heavy pulls,speed box squats and back on sunday,heavy bench and delts on tuesday,heavy squats,good mornings and speed pulls on wednesday and tris and close grip bench on friday.

Travis Bell
02-09-2008, 12:49 PM
are you talking like the week before? two weeks out? just kinda depends.

For benching, the last time I'll get in my shirt is either two or 3 weeks out from a meet. Week before, just take a 85-90% single raw and then the tuesday or wednsday before, do a super light speed workout with no extensor work. I'll take Friday off completly. Keep in mind though, I'm a bench only competitor, if I were doing full meets I'd take more time off to let my body completly recover.

One thing I have found though is if I take too much time off, I feel weird when I get on the platform, not as fluid and a little rusty, whereas if I plan it just right, I feel like its just another day in the gym

justen caputo
02-09-2008, 12:53 PM
i usually take 5-6 days off completely before a meet,so the last 2 weeks before i take a week off is my problem area.

BPM Osgood
02-09-2008, 04:00 PM