PDA

View Full Version : Bench Wench

Wednesday.
02-09-2008, 07:35 PM
I am a total complete newbie. Pretend like I dont know anything.

I am female, late 30s, I am 5'2 but I dont feel like sharing my all my stats. Supplements are protein, fish oil, multi and extra calcium/fiber, C, E and I have just begin experimenting with Biotests Hot Rox. I am waiting for my shipment of Nitrean from At Large.

Ive been working with kettlebells because they were different and portable and I was traveling a lot.

Now I have settled into a cottage on the beach to begin surfing again. It's been many years since I surfed on a regular basis and I am very deconditioned. Surfers need fluid, explosive bursts of power and strong shoulders and back.

My goals are fat loss, flexibility and explosive strength. I chose kettlebells to take me from a sedentary state. I was attracted to the KB because it was different and yet still old school. I like different and tradition appeals to me. I was motivated to clean up my diet and used this time to learn about nutrition as I was starting to incorporate exercise into my daily routine. I practice yoga and pilates for my flexibility goals, but I am also using a foam roller for self massage. I like to do yoga after being in the water because sometimes my bad posture makes my neck hurt. I am trying to be more aware of slumping when I'm sitting on my surfboard or even just using the laptop.

I have progressed to the point where I am ready to move to heavier bells and so now I have decided to add more traditional weight lifting. I have been doing some reading and have decided that the type of lifting that appeals to me is old fashioned Olympic style, I have not attempted it yet.

Tonight I purchased a bench, rack and barbell. I still have to assemble the monstrous thing. :drooling:

Here is my current routine using the KBs:

10# KB

3x15 two arm swings
3x15 single arm swings
3x15 alternating arm swings
3x15 cleans
3x15 presses
3x10 front squats

15# KB