PDA

View Full Version : Should I cut or bulk?

clapton924
02-15-2008, 06:44 PM
Hi guys,

I've been looming around these forums for a couple years now. I would consider myself a intermediate to slightly advanced lifter. I've been hitting the weights for a couple years now...used to be a weak chubby guy.

Here is some background:

In summer 2006 I bulked over the course of about 5 months from 180 to about 220. In January 2007 I started a slow cut...but then my life quickly changed. I moved to Florida for the summer, and then to New Orleans to start graduate school at Tulane. At my past prime I was about 15% BF at 180lbs and had a max bench around 230.

Bottom line, I never finished my cut....and I have not been on a regular lifting program for about 6 months. Now that life has settled down a bit I am going back to the gym on a regular basis. I've lost some of the muscle I put on during my bulk...and I still have some of the fat from the bulk.

I'm 5'10" and weigh about 205 in these pictures. I've always struggled saying lean...I was the "husky" kid growing up...and about 8 month ago I found out from my doctor I have mild hypothyroidism...which puts a hit on my metabolism...and makes my body store fat. I take a pill for it each day now....but nothing is quite as good as the real thing.

My diet is pretty clean, I mainly eat lean meats, rice, potatoes, oatmeal, whole wheat, whey supplements etc.

Alright enough babbling....here are some pics. What ya think? Bulk some more or cut the fat?

http://gregsphotos.glotzbecker.com/albums/upload/bb/normal_DSC00741.JPG
http://gregsphotos.glotzbecker.com/albums/upload/bb/normal_DSC00743.JPG
http://gregsphotos.glotzbecker.com/albums/upload/bb/normal_DSC00744.JPG
http://gregsphotos.glotzbecker.com/albums/upload/bb/normal_DSC00746.JPG

clapton924
02-15-2008, 08:57 PM
My vote is to pack on a little more muscle. :)

avada
02-15-2008, 09:55 PM
I would say bulk a little more

BFGUITAR
02-16-2008, 12:34 AM
Go either way.