PDA

View Full Version : Squat/DL form check

fpr
03-27-2008, 06:34 PM
Finally got a video camera. I know the angle isn't the greatest, if it's that bad I'll retake the video.

Squat 225 x 8

S63IYTcZEqM

DL 275 x 5

oK3snx9kdKM

bjohnso
03-27-2008, 07:24 PM
Squat it's hard to tell - the bottom half is obscured. With your deadlift, it looks like your rounding your back quite a bit.

fpr
03-27-2008, 07:33 PM
I'll have to redo the squat video. How do I straighten the back out any more? I'm looking straight ahead.... I thought it was pretty rigid, any suggestions?

bjohnso
03-27-2008, 07:49 PM
It's probably a question of flexibility. I'm no physiology expert, but I think it may be due to tight hamstrings and glutes. I know for me, conventional deadlifts are kind of tough because my huge gut makes it difficult to keep an arched/straight back in the bottom position.

You could try widening your stance a little and working on flexibility. Make an effort to stick your @ss back as far as you can, and puff out your chest. See if that helps.

dynamo
03-27-2008, 08:24 PM
try having your arms in between your legs next time you dead lift, may help you get lower, and keep your back from rounding.

fpr
03-27-2008, 08:29 PM
I'll give sumo a try, haven't tried it before. Any disadvantages to it, e.g. not being able to lift as much? I'll go low to start.

bjohnso
03-27-2008, 08:31 PM
I find that sumo takes a lot more leg strength to lift comparable weight. You might lose some poundage if your legs are weak, but it's worth it IMO.

Ben Moore
03-27-2008, 09:14 PM
Can't tell on the squat.

DL looked as if that weight was very easy since you walked it back into the rack. Try keeping the bar closer to the shins. Head back into the traps. You're back rounding a little should be corrected by getting the bar back a bit.

Ryan Celli
03-27-2008, 09:25 PM