PDA

View Full Version : Beginner at Olympic Lifting Seeking Advice

ZTuckey
03-31-2008, 09:03 PM
I'm pretty new to olympic lifting, and I don't currently have access to a coach. I'd appreciate any criticisms anyone has to offer.

I know I need to improve my depth in the overhead squat position for the snatch, and the speed of the pull. In the clean, I feel like I don't get enough hip extension, and pull the bar higher than I need to.

If anyone could point out what they feel are the most glaring weaknesses in my form, and/or suggest ways to improve, I'd be greatly appreciative.

Seems I can't post links yet.

youtube.com/watch?v=laesqnRpZZ4

Thanks.

Runty
03-31-2008, 09:50 PM
I'd say for not having a coach that it's pretty good. I'm not much of an expert but I watch quite a few lifting videos and the only thing I really noticed was the hip extension on the second pull. That and I couldn't really tell but it didn't seem like you were shrugging it up super hard at the top of some of the lifts.

garjagan
04-01-2008, 04:00 AM
I cant give any technical advice because I'm in the beginning stages of learning myself - but for a beginner, you look strong.

Advice I've read from seasoned coaches is to train with little weight until you get your form right, so you dont get into bad habits.

I'll link it for you to the thread for you:

laesqnRpZZ4

JHarris
04-02-2008, 08:48 AM
Welcome to Olympic lifting! Your lifts are good for someone new to the sport, but there's a few things I would start trying to fix.

1. First thing is to fix your second pull (basically, from just below your knees to full extension.) You need to jump here! You are cutting it early and not fully extending, which I see you noticed. Really think of jumping up and shrugging hard!