PDA

View Full Version : ME Good mornings...

Hazerboy
04-07-2008, 07:33 PM
I feel like every westside article I read mentions good mornings as the greatest lower body max effort exercise you can do -- "It builds the posterior chain LIKE NO OTHER!" Do you think this is true even for the most experience lifters? Wouldn't the best ME movement be just variations of squats and deadlifts, versus something that is just similar (i.e. the good morning)?

I feel like this is the case for me. I max at around 265 for high bar gm and 315 for lb wide stance gm. I have a really hard time keeping my form consistent from time to time, especially without a spotter. Sometimes I wonder if I would be better off just doing a few different squatting/deadlifting variations than a movement that is just similar to a squat or a deadlift, at least until I have some more experience under my belt. Does anyone else break from westside convention and do this?

SDS
04-07-2008, 07:39 PM
I'd rather do SLDL's, but that's just me. GM's are a good movement....I throw them in from time to time, but SLDL's are the staple of my hamstring exercise.

Addison K.
04-07-2008, 09:02 PM
In my experience/opinion, good mornings (both bent- and straight-leg variations) are the best deadlift builders.

IHN,

Addison K.

thewicked
04-07-2008, 10:33 PM
I feel like every westside article I read mentions good mornings as the greatest lower body max effort exercise you can do -- "It builds the posterior chain LIKE NO OTHER!" Do you think this is true even for the most experience lifters? Wouldn't the best ME movement be just variations of squats and deadlifts, versus something that is just similar (i.e. the good morning)?