PDA

View Full Version : Sticking points..

Lewy23
04-28-2008, 02:49 PM
I need some help in getting past certain sticking points. When it comes to benching...I can damn near pop almost anything off my chest then sometimes its like I hit a brick wall and it wont go..

Besides boards...what other lifts or exercises can I do to help with this?? Any help would be great!! Thanks!

Lewy

Travis Bell
04-28-2008, 03:00 PM
work your triceps with JM presses, rollbacks, Tate Presses and boards as well

RhodeHouse
04-28-2008, 03:50 PM
Make sure you're pushing all the way thru the lift.

curiosity
04-28-2008, 04:35 PM
rack lockouts worked for me

youngguns
04-28-2008, 04:53 PM
you could try floor pressing, and maybe bands. but im no bench expert, i'd do w/e travis/any other big bencher reccomends.

Travis Bell
04-28-2008, 05:10 PM
Make sure you're pushing all the way thru the lift.

This is really good advice. Too often people quit too soon and forget to "spread the bar" Act like your trying to spread your hands apart.

One thing that I've had to do is get my press endurance back up. Lou has had me doing non stop super sets on my DE day. It sucks but I have definatly noticed better grinder ability. I can squeeze my benches for longer now

fooz
04-28-2008, 07:55 PM
This is really good advice. Too often people quit too soon and forget to "spread the bar" Act like your trying to spread your hands apart.

One thing that I've had to do is get my press endurance back up. Lou has had me doing non stop super sets on my DE day. It sucks but I have definatly noticed better grinder ability. I can squeeze my benches for longer now

wow gotta try that, thanks :evillaugh:

Lewy23
04-29-2008, 06:12 AM

What sort of non-stop super sets?

Lewy23
04-29-2008, 06:27 AM
work your triceps with JM presses, rollbacks, Tate Presses and boards as well

What are JM presses and rollbacks. I just watched a few JM presses on youtube...is it just a close grip bench?

Travis Bell
04-29-2008, 09:22 AM