PDA

View Full Version : Bench press tips from you big benchers

Erik 23
04-30-2008, 08:08 PM
Earlier i was benching at a new gym and i had a couple bad handoffs well buy the time i got to my working sets i could barely bench i did 520 for 2 then i was having trouble so i dropped down two 500 and i was going to single it well as soon as it hit my chest my right tendon pulled and the guys around me had to take it off. How important is a good handoff can most of you big benchers take the weight yourself out should i try to get stronger for this or what. it almost seems that if i dont get a good handoff and get the weight right over my sternum then i cant bench. Please check out a bench video on youtube so you all can take a look at my form. any help would be appreciated. on youtube type in Erik's Bench Press i also have a deadlift video Erik's 700 lb deadlift

Jonah
04-30-2008, 08:34 PM
I'm not a "big bencher" but I've had some experience with this. I've also gotten rightly chewed out for screwing up liftoffs too. Tell whoever's lifting off for you where you want the bar and hold them to it. If they are still screwing up then try and find someone else. You need to be comfortable with where the other person puts the bar.

Erik 23
04-30-2008, 09:14 PM
I'm not a "big bencher" but I've had some experience with this. I've also gotten rightly chewed out for screwing up liftoffs too. Tell whoever's lifting off for you where you want the bar and hold them to it. If they are still screwing up then try and find someone else. You need to be comfortable with where the other person puts the bar.

Hey jonah thanx for the reply i am glad to hear i am not the only one with this issue i cant figure it out some days if i have a good hand off im repping 475 and such other days if i dont get a good handoff and have to take the weight out myself it seems like i get stuck and i cant move the weight at all.

ThomasG
04-30-2008, 09:41 PM