PDA

View Full Version : Help with Training for Hockey

hockeysniper
05-12-2008, 05:32 PM
Hey all. I am a 16 year old sophomore athlete who plays AAA and Varsity ice hockey. Im a very quick skater, and have good hands and good vision (passing). However, when talking to scouts, they have all been concerned about my size. Im 6' 0", but I only weight 150 LBS. Im committing my entire summer to bulking up, and gaining at least 15 lbs. I plan on using Muscle Milk to help me achieve this. My question to you, what would be a good program for me? I haven't done much serious weight lifting, only things like pushups, chinups, and situps. I have fairly good endurace; my 5k time is about 19:15. If any one could devise a program, or at least recommend one for me, that would be great. I need to gain the weight, however, without losing speed/ quickness, and keep in mind that I will be on the ice a lot during the summer.

Thanks for reading my post. Also, one quick question, I'm about to join LA Fitness, is that a good gym? Im thinking about getting a personal trainer; is that a good idea?

frank
05-12-2008, 05:49 PM
Hey all. I am a 16 year old sophomore athlete who plays AAA and Varsity ice hockey. Im a very quick skater, and have good hands and good vision (passing). However, when talking to scouts, they have all been concerned about my size. Im 6' 0", but I only weight 150 LBS. Im committing my entire summer to bulking up, and gaining at least 15 lbs. I plan on using Muscle Milk to help me achieve this. My question to you, what would be a good program for me? I haven't done much serious weight lifting, only things like pushups, chinups, and situps. I have fairly good endurace; my 5k time is about 19:15. If any one could devise a program, or at least recommend one for me, that would be great. I need to gain the weight, however, without losing speed/ quickness, and keep in mind that I will be on the ice a lot during the summer.