PDA

View Full Version : What do you cook with rice

dd2000
05-22-2008, 07:28 AM
I'm a noob in the kitchen...what do you guys mix up and serve/eat with plain cooked rice?

Thanks

Reko
05-22-2008, 08:39 AM
chicken usually. mixed with cream of chicken soup, or chicken broth, or both.
Or sometimes with BBQ sauce instead, ronnie coleman style.

Other times ill jsut eat it by iteself or mix in some eggs to try and make fried rice, but i have not been having much luck with that one.

WillNoble
05-22-2008, 09:25 AM
If you dont already have one a rice cooker is awesome...i just put any variety of contents in the water I put into the rice cooker.

My favorite is to put 2 cups of rice in the cooker, with water and the juice of a whole lime, then some chopped cilantro...tastes GREAT

I usually use the cooked rice to make my home versions of a chipotle burrito, sans beans with extra steak and hot sauce instead of salsa

BG5150
05-22-2008, 09:33 AM
I make my own version of pepper steak.

I use:

2 cans Campbell's Consumme of Beef soup
1 onion chopped
2 green peppers chopped
1-1.5 lb stir-fry beef
Rice (amount as desired)
Flour or corn starch, water (optional)

1. Brown beef in a pan, drain, cut into bite-sized pieces
2. Put soup, onion and peppers in pot.
3. Bring to boil
4. Cover, reduce heat; simmer until peppers are soft (usually between 20-30 mins)
5. Meanwhile, prepare rice
6. When peppers are soft, combine 1 tbsp flour or corn starch (I prefer corn starch) with 1/2 cup water, which until well blended. Add to soup mixture and cook uncovered for another 10-15. This should thicken sauce up a bit.
7. Serve mixture over rice.

Total cost: about 10 bucks.

BG5150
05-22-2008, 09:35 AM
If you dont already have one a rice cooker is awesome...i just put any variety of contents in the water I put into the rice cooker.
+1 on the rice cooker.