PDA

View Full Version : Protein shake question.

Dan9108
05-31-2008, 11:00 AM
I'm on a cut, and I haven't looked into protein shake powder, but I'm going to purchase some today. I lift 3 days a week and run 3-5 miles 3 days a week. I don't need a recommendation on a brand of protein shake, just if I should get casein and whey, or just whey, or any other recommendation. I'm new to this, so I'm kind of in the dark of a decent protein powder to get that will assist me on my cut.

Dan9108
05-31-2008, 01:48 PM
Sorry, I got all the help I need, it won't let me delete the thread, apologies.

bdunndchi
05-31-2008, 06:39 PM
For anyone else that stumbles on this thread looking for protein advice, I am a big advocate of casein and whey. Casein is a slow-digesting protein and whey is fast digesting. I add some casein to my postworkout shake (with whey of course), and also take a casein shake before bed. I use Optimum's whey and casein. (chocolate for both!)

--->http://zapurls.com/BuffSmiles.jpg:)<---

Dan9108
06-01-2008, 06:42 PM
I went to a health store and looked for a mix that was relatively low in fat and carbs with a good protein content. It is Now brand whey protein. http://www.nowfoods.com/index.php?action=itemdetail&item_id=3718

Does this look good for a cut?

I take 2 scoops in the morning in 10 oz. organic skim milk. I lift at school at around 11:00.
and 1 scoop with about 8 oz organic skim milk around late afternoon 45 min before I run 3-5 miles.

Does this sounds decent for a cut? I weigh around 160 lbs and i'm 5'8, age 16

RhodeHouse
06-01-2008, 08:55 PM
I went to a health store and looked for a mix that was relatively low in fat and carbs with a good protein content. It is Now brand whey protein. http://www.nowfoods.com/index.php?action=itemdetail&item_id=3718

Does this look good for a cut?

I take 2 scoops in the morning in 10 oz. organic skim milk. I lift at school at around 11:00.