PDA

View Full Version : Getting Sponsored

Jaybird88
06-24-2008, 08:57 PM
Perhaps one of the many sponsored lifters we have around here could enlighten me on something I've wondered lately:

How does one go about getting sponsored?

I'm still relatively new to powerlifting, especially the business aspect. It seems all of the sponsored lifters I've seen have been in the upper weight classes, I assume due to the higher numbers? Maybe Chris can give a sponsor's perspective also?

Just as a note, I'm not asking for advice so that I can get sponsored. With all of the big guys joining the site, its just made me curious. I figure a first person perspective would be pretty interesting.

strongkid963
06-24-2008, 09:02 PM
make resume. send it to all companies(like in PL USA).get low body-fat. find a good personality. ask them to help you out. just do what big jt hall does (thanks sponsors, etc.)

nhlfan
06-24-2008, 09:04 PM
become an excellent lifter and become even more excellent at selling yourself

RhodeHouse
06-24-2008, 09:30 PM
make resume. send it to all companies(like in PL USA).get low body-fat. find a good personality. ask them to help you out. just do what big jt hall does (thanks sponsors, etc.)

Low bodyfat? Where'd you come up with that?

Getting sposored is about A LOT more than that. It's more about what you can do for your sponsor. Nobody gives out "free" stuff. There's always a price or a catch with a sponsorship.

Knowing how to sell yourself definately helps. Having a presence in whatever field your in to. For me, it's powerlifting. People know me for a few reasons.

1. I'm a decent lifter
2. I'm visible on the internet
3. I speak/write my mind, so it's always fun to read my stuff

I'm the Paris Hilton of powerlifting. I haven't really won anything or been around that long, but people know me. It helps that I'm a very attractive man with chisled abs and rock hard glutes.

bigbadwolfe
06-24-2008, 09:36 PM
I'm the Paris Hilton of powerlifting.