PDA

View Full Version : How the hell do you crazy bast***ds deadlift so much weight?

brihead301
07-03-2008, 09:46 AM
I just got 345 x 5 for my first time yesterday, and I don't feel as if I stalled out yet. I can probably continue to add 5 lbs. per week for another few workouts until I'm maybe up to 375 or so. But DAMN, 345 felt pretty damn heavy to me.

But how the hell do you crazy SOB's manage to deadlift up over 600 lbs. and stuff?? Actually I know how you do it. You train your ass off until you do it, but I'm just saying that 600+ lbs. is insane. 600+ lb. squat.... yup that's also insane.

My PR's right now are:

Squat - 255 x 5
Deadlift - 345 x 5
Bench - 217 x 5

I don't know what my 1RM's are though. It definately feels heavy to me now though, lol.

Ben Moore
07-03-2008, 10:46 AM
There's a running theme in most threads - years of training consistently. I've been training consistently for 15+ years. There is no secret and it won't happen overnight. Find some training partners and get to work.

brihead301
07-03-2008, 11:37 AM
Ya I know. I've been busting my a** for about a year now. I'm just amazed at how people can squat and deadlift so much weight when my lifts feel so damn heavy now, lol. Much respect to everyone though that does it.

Tennessee Mike
07-03-2008, 12:28 PM
345 x 5 is no joke for a raw lifter.your 1 RM could be around 405-420.Wait another 5 years.I didnt start really deadlifting seriously until 3 yrs ago.Once I started using the westside template and talking to other powerlifters I learned a ton.Do alot of low back work,hamstrings,db rows,etc.To master a movement,you must dissect it.Rack pulls,pulls off plates too.Your pulling good weight now,so keep at it.

David_HoffWSBB
07-03-2008, 12:44 PM
heavy rack pulls , hypers , calf ham glutes, sled dragging, safety squat bar, speed pulls with bands thats how i did it

BCorn
07-03-2008, 01:16 PM
my question is how do you get 345X5!!!!! i'm a freaking weakling....couldnt even get that.

TheSeeker