PDA

View Full Version : I Want to get bigger for sports.

Joander123
07-11-2008, 03:19 PM
(sorry for rambling on in the post, but just wanted to get all information that you guys might need to help me out there.)

Hey all, i'm new here. This is my 2nd post, 1st one was in the introduction..

Anyways... I play highschool football, basketball and baseball... and want to get bigger to be able to compete at the varsity level.

I'm 16 years old, 6 feet tall, and probably about 175 lbs... maybe 180 right after i eat. =).

I'm not so concerned with basketball and baseball, as i think i'm pretty much big enough to play the positions i play in those sports already. Football is a different story though.

I've been playing football for a few years, and last year on the freshman team (not to brag) but i was a standout on the team. I was voted one of three team captains, and played middle linebacker....probably the hardest hitter on the team as well.

But you see, i wasn't good because i was bigger than everyone else, in fact a lot of the people i played with were a good deal bigger than me, or at least the same size. I was always good because of my mentality and approach in tackling.. i have pretty good form and when im on the football field i just try to be the meanest SOB that i can.

But for the upcoming year however... I'm a good deal smaller than my competition for a varsity linebacker spot. And i'm afraid that simply having good form and a good attitude about hitting wont cut it against these bigger upper class men. So put simply, i need to get bigger.

I've been lifting on a good schedule for the past 2 months... and have noticed some gains... but even the players my age are ahead of me because they were working out all winter and spring when i was playing basketball and baseball.

Anyways... here is what i am doing now. (on a team plan, and limited weight room schedule)

Monday is mostly shoulders and back.. (cleans, shoulder press, upright row, Dead lifts)