PDA

View Full Version : Breathing during your lifts..

Tennessee Mike
07-27-2008, 01:20 PM
Okay,so as I am still fairly new to powerlifting ,I was wondering what the standard was for breathing during the Bench,Squat,Deadlift.As for bench,I normally fill myself up with air and hold it til I'm halfway up with the weight.But I see that holding it until you rack the weight is common.I just want to know how to get max output on the "big 3"

Notorious
07-27-2008, 01:21 PM
Hold your breath for the entire rep on all 3 lifts.

Lones Green
07-27-2008, 03:15 PM
on squats, i don't breathe until i rack the weight

on bench, i don't breathe until i rack the weight

on deadlifts, i don't breathe until its a good lift :)

RhodeHouse
07-27-2008, 03:43 PM
Yup!

Ben Moore
07-27-2008, 04:11 PM
What lones said.

RedSpikeyThing
07-27-2008, 06:43 PM
on squats, i don't breathe until i rack the weight

on bench, i don't breathe until i rack the weight

on deadlifts, i don't breathe until its a good lift :)

how do you make through a heavy squat or deadlift without grunting?

Ben Moore
07-27-2008, 07:17 PM
Easy, when you grunt you lose tightness and miss the lift - Lones says: "Don't do grunts!"

Kastro
07-27-2008, 08:07 PM
Grunting is very easy to get in the habit of doing, but just don't.

Kiknskreem
08-26-2008, 09:01 AM
Easy, when you grunt you lose tightness and miss the lift - Lones says: "Don't do grunts!"

A prolonged vocalization, will cause you lose tightness, not a quick grunt.

A quick grunt actually causes an immediate spike in valsalvic pressure, that is why it is a very natural thing to do and often happens involuntarily.

BigTallOx
08-26-2008, 11:29 AM
Back to the topic of this thread....