PDA

View Full Version : Need help with diet---beginner!

lowfi
09-06-2008, 06:22 PM
Hey everyone,

I just started lifting weights to get back into shape and to put on a little muscle. I just turned 23, and am 5'10", 180 lbs. I need a little bit of help figuring out a diet regimen. I have no idea how many calories to eat...and for that matter...how many calories I burn a day. I've been going to the gym 4 days a week and doing cardio 2-3 times per week. Can anyone give estimates or tips on how much I should be eating or how to calculate calorie intake/deficit etc.? I know this is a very vague question, sorry about that. I also purchased Muscle Milk to supplement proteins for before and after workouts. My goals are to cut up a little bit and mainly just gain muscle mass.

Thanks for your help,

Sean

Willie
09-06-2008, 10:35 PM
...to get back into shape and to put on a little muscle.

Hey Sean,

This is very vague.

What are your goals?

Your goal drives how you eat and how you train. There is no one-size-fits-all diet/training regimen.

ryuage
09-07-2008, 12:59 AM
go to fitday.com or thedailyplate.com and sign up for an account
weigh yourself tomorrow
track everything you eat for a period of time... say 7 days or even up to a month.
weigh yourself after

depending on goal,
if you gained weight, look at how much you ate and eat less than the calories it says on the website
if you lost weight, look at how much you ate and eat more than the calories it says on the website

lowfi
09-07-2008, 11:37 AM