PDA

View Full Version : Weightlifting Bands

Lunar Effect
09-11-2008, 12:48 PM
I have hit a plateau recently with my bench, I was thinking about using bands and chains to increase my burst at the bottom of the lift. I was looking at the bands here:

www.prowriststraps.com/bands_powerlifting_weight_lifting_band

Where would you guys recommend that I start? I've never used bands before so I'm not really sure where to begin. They give a few pointers, but it is pretty vague. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Detard
09-11-2008, 12:54 PM
I would suggest getting lights, monster mini's, and mini's for now, from EFS. http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?cid=138

I choke them under a heavy DB or a plate with a handle, then loop it over the bar. If your looking to do them with speed, make sure there is tension all the way through. You want to be able to move the bar FAST. Some people try for 3 reps in 3 seconds, some just look to explode it off the chest. Some of the big dawgs will probably chime in with some more advice.

Detard
09-11-2008, 12:56 PM
Also, when ordering from Elite, make sure you get TWO of each. I almost made that mistake. Each band is sold individually.

sayagain
09-11-2008, 02:22 PM
I just bought my first bands about a month ago. I got a pair of mini's and use them for speed work. Like the above poster said, I try for 3 reps in 3 seconds. You'll have to double them up to make sure that you have tension at the bottom of the lift. I feel like they help a lot with my explosion off the bottom as the accomodating resistance makes it feel light at the bottom, but it gets heavier at the top where you are stronger. I got a lot of good feedback on this forum from some of the big guys, so you are asking in the right place.