PDA

View Full Version : My bench needs help

gatorman2k6
09-16-2008, 05:26 PM
So, this is my first time posting on here, mainly because if I have a question I ask somewhere else, and I am not knowledgeable enough to answer anyone's questions. But after today, I have decided to turn to the strongest people.

So 3 weeks ago, I tweaked my right knee and groin doing squats and deadlifts while on a variation of Bill Starr's 5x5. Ever since, I haven't been able to do either exercise and I finally made a doctor's appointment in 3 weeks to see what's wrong. So, this has given me a chance to focus on my upper body, mainly focusing on my bench. While I am not strong enough(only bench 205) to consider myself a powerlifter, I only lift for pure strength right now so I figured this was the place to look. Since I can't really do my program anymore I was going to try and do something else but figured I would max first on bench. After deloading last week, I maxed today and stalled on 205. I was pretty disappointed because I had gotten 185x5 and 190x3 just 2 weeks ago, which would put my max higher. So my question is, what should I do now to increase my bench, until my knee and groin heal up?

I am thinking about doing the "Up your bench 30lbs in 30 days" but I just wanted to see what the pros had to say. Sorry for the long post but I thought I would make my first post, my most informational post. Thanks.

vdizenzo
09-16-2008, 05:33 PM
Bench is not just about bench. It's a lot about assistance work. How is your lat, shoulder, and tricep strength?

Lones Green
09-16-2008, 05:36 PM
Bench is not just about bench. It's a lot about assistance work. How is your lat, shoulder, and tricep strength?

good call Vin! find your weakness and attack it!

Ryano
09-16-2008, 05:46 PM