PDA

View Full Version : Blolod Type Stuff

The Tick
03-29-2002, 11:36 AM
Tryska has mentioned the Eat right for Your Type bood.

I have a bud who is a Masters natural BBer (an old guy) who swears by the diet recommendations in the book. Both he and his fiancee had great results using it.

It seemed, though, that his type responded well to lowcarb dieting.. the problem there is that lots of people respond well to LC dieting.

I don't know how well the book is researched or referenced; I never read it.

Tryska
03-29-2002, 11:42 AM
Actually Live Right For Your Type is better.

I'm guessing he was a Type O. Like myself. i aslo respond better to low varb dieting. Type O also makes up something like 38% of the population (world-wide) so it doesn't surprise me that lots of people respond well.

the book actually is really quite well researched imo, i was also able to cross-reference with medline. and i'm a skeptic, so that's gotta say something.

Tryska
03-29-2002, 11:44 AM
actually i think Type Bs also respond well to low-carb. (except chicken). I haven't read much on them.....but they make up another 24% or some such figure, so that's pretty much 60% of the population.

btw...glad to see you came back around!

Alex.V
03-29-2002, 11:57 AM
I just don't get it. There's nothing instrinsic in clotting factors that would cause the body to respond differently to diet. And though the 'origins' theory is sound, there's been so much intermingling between people, who's to say that the same traits responsible for how the body reacts to food etc. hang along the same chromosomes as clotting factor types?

Maybe I'm not explaining myself very well, but I've had this debate so many times with my mother (who used to swear by this book), and I've read it myself, and I'm tempted to buy into it, but I just can't seem to reconcile the flaws.

breeze
03-29-2002, 12:04 PM