PDA

View Full Version : Training advice for folks new to powerlifting

PriestCometh
10-08-2008, 05:36 PM
I know I am not the smartest person around. But, I get alot of new lifters that just show up at the gym and are so stuck on records. They dont want to lift unless they can kick everyones a$$. I think our society is so stuck on being the best right now. Instead of taking the knocks and kicks in the rear until you get to your goals(whatever they may be).

Here are some things that I tell new lifters(please add if you can think of some):

1. Be willing to learn. I have been doing this for 10 years and still learning alot.
Everytime I go to a meet, I ask others about the type of training that they do. If it sounds like it will work, I will try it. I take what works for me and use it. If it doesnt work for you, dont use it. But, you have to try it for a training cycle! Dont do it one week and say it doesnt work. No program works in 1 week.

The beauty of this sport is that the top lifters are very accessible. Personally I have gotten advice from(big breathe) Ed Coan, Garry Frank, Mikesell, Kellum, August Clark, Bolton, Louie Simmons, Bill Crawford, Kennelly, Rychlak, Mendelson, Wade Hooper, Bolt, Jim Kegrice, Heck, Luyando, Ted O'Neil, Thad Coleman, Ribic, Jack Reape, pretty much everyone I come into contact with. I would like to still learn from people like Doyle Kenady, Gene Bell and Vogelpohl.

2. Records are meant to be broken. Eventually, someone will break it. I have always been a believer in breaking personal records. Eventually, a record out there will fall. I have actually held multiple world records(there was 1 I held for about a month), but I think world championships are alot more important to me. Your not gonna be a world recordholder forever. But when you win a world championship, you are always the champ for that year.

3. Work hard. It doesnt come easy.