PDA

View Full Version : Arghhhhh!!!!

rager2500
10-25-2008, 12:34 PM
Ok, so this is my first post but I pulled a hamstring last night, Friday 10/24/08. Was doing wider than my normal squatting stance and felt something, then on my second set, it felt like my hamstrings "moved." Then the pain set it. I have a degree 1 or at the very worst, degree 2 strain. I can walk with a limp, pain is there, but no discoloration. I'm doing the RICE, icing for the next 48 hours, etc. My question is how long till I get back into training? I know you guys aren't doctors, but just some opinions. I want to get back next Monday which would be 9 days, 11/03/08. Thoughts??? I am not for going lighter in the next few weeks, I would rather fully heal and hit it hard, thats what I've always done for injuries rather than train while its not healed, and just prolong the recovery.

Lones Green
10-25-2008, 12:40 PM
i would take it easy, man. take some time off and get back into the groove of things slowly. when i've pulled a hammy in the past, i've taken a week and a half off, but i did not lay on the couch. get the blood flowing, but don't push it.

just remember this, if you train heavy and end up tearing it or something along those lines, thats just more time you are going to have to take off. ease back into training, don't push it, and keep moving.

take a look at Stump's log (you'll have to search for it). he had an injury similar to yours and kept pushing it, and it kept hurting him for a very long time.

rager2500
10-25-2008, 02:49 PM
Yea, I know if I push it early, I can possibly tear it. Been lucky in the past with other injuries, but not a hamstring pull.

huskybear
10-25-2008, 05:50 PM