PDA

View Full Version : Any other lifting couples?

Guido
10-30-2008, 01:50 PM
My wife and I have been powerlifting together for a few years now. I got the bug first and she sort of reluctantly joined along after I convinced her to try it. Well, one meet and she was hooked. We lift together as training partners and push each other to do well - in the gym AND in the kitchen! I've heard of a few other husband/wife couples that lift and compete. Are there any on here? Anyone who's significant other is an into it as they are?

brihead301
10-30-2008, 02:30 PM
I tried to get my ex girlfriend to train with me, but she just wouldn't do it. Now, I'm not saying that's the reason why we're not together anymore, but that thought has crossed my mind. I'm an a**hole.

Buccos1
10-30-2008, 02:39 PM
My girlfriend worked out a lot when I met her but it was mainly cardio-type stuff. Now, I have her trying to get her bench #s up and trying to get the proper set up on the bench. She's now constantly trying to up her BP, curl and squat numbers. I am trying to teach her how to deadlift, but it hasn't taken yet.

Jorge Sanchez
10-30-2008, 02:40 PM
I've taken my GF to the gym a few times. She likes watching me squat (something about the grunting turns her on, apparently) but she doesn't like to do much except pull ups.

Guido
10-30-2008, 02:44 PM
I've taken my GF to the gym a few times. She likes watching me squat (something about the grunting turns her on, apparently) but she doesn't like to do much except pull ups.Any woman who can do pullups is hardcore, IMO. Lynn can almost do 10 of them now whereas a year ago she could barely do 1.

Guido
10-30-2008, 02:45 PM