PDA

View Full Version : New to the sport

yellowtail1
11-04-2008, 10:18 PM
I am new to powerlifting and am hoping to get some help with a workout routine. I have spoken to friends that do bodybuilding and they have offered suggestions but I would like input from people that focus on powerlifting. If anyone has a workout plan and they use and would be willing to share it I would appreciate it (warm up, reps, etc.).

As far as current numbers they are not impressive by any means (bench 205, deadlift 250, squat 225) oddly enough I can shrug 615. Thanks in advance for any suggestions and input.

BigTallOx
11-04-2008, 11:08 PM
I am new to powerlifting and am hoping to get some help with a workout routine. I have spoken to friends that do bodybuilding and they have offered suggestions but I would like input from people that focus on powerlifting. If anyone has a workout plan and they use and would be willing to share it I would appreciate it (warm up, reps, etc.).

Google Westside barbell conjugate method. It's a template that uses max effort and dynamic effort workouts and along with accessory exercises to build core strength and strengthen your weaknesses.

As far as current numbers they are not impressive by any means (bench 205, deadlift 250, squat 225) oddly enough I can shrug 615. Thanks in advance for any suggestions and input.

There is a thread about the shrugs in the bodybuilding section. I have my opinions about them, your comment kind of supports my feelings. Anyway do them if you want (snip, nevermind)

TheVrolok
11-05-2008, 04:05 AM
Pick up a copy of Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength 2nd Edition. One of the best, if not the best, books you can read.

brihead301
11-05-2008, 09:54 AM
Pick up a copy of Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength 2nd Edition. One of the best, if not the best, books you can read.