PDA

View Full Version : Trying to understand shirts and suits

brihead301
11-18-2008, 07:35 AM
I don't mean to p*ss anyone off by asking this question, but I really don't understand.

What is the point of squat and deadlift suits and bench shirts?

I know they allow you to lift more weight, but isn't that defeating the purpose of getting your body strong?

Like, if you are capable of squatting 600 lbs. raw (which is pretty damn good), and you are capable of squatting 750 raw with the suit on..... It seems as if the suit is taking place of what your stabilizer muscles should be doing.

I'm pretty new to all this stuff, so forgive me if this has been discussed a million times before. I did a few searches on this subject on this forum, but didn't really find anything.

I was just wondering. Depending on how serious I get with PLing, I may get into the gear one day. For now, I still have lots of raw strength to be built.

Reko
11-18-2008, 07:52 AM
They let you lift more weight and are legal.

And can prevent injury to a degree depending on how jacked your gear is or how you use it I would imagine.

Reko
11-18-2008, 07:56 AM
Also, they don't take the stabilizers out of it, in fact if anything they make them work even harder. The fact the gear compresses you so much and also that it streteches (a little) and acts like a spring help, but in every lift, regardless of gear, you still have to lock it out and learn it. There isn't much that will help with that.

I think I got 0 pounds out of most of the gear I wore the first several times. Hell I hit a PR squat with briefs and suit bottoms and then PRs the next week without the suit bottoms. It takes lots of time to learn the gear, especially if its tight. You have to have very good form and have a very strong body to handle the extra weight you will be doing.

deeder
11-18-2008, 08:09 AM