PDA

View Full Version : How often do you go for a squat PR

BigTallOx
11-25-2008, 01:25 PM
I've been squatting for I guess about 6 months or so ( not counting when I squatted back in college 20+ years ago ), so up to now PR's have come pretty quickly. Almost every max effort squat workout I have been going for a 1 rep max PR, which is only once every few weeks because I cycle max effort squats, deads, safety squat bar squats, etc. Last Sunday was no exception. I squatted 445 for a 20 pound PR. It felt great, no knee wraps, no belt. I feel that my technique/form continues to get better, and the 445 felt easier than when I did 425 a few weeks ago, but MAN it's two days later and my body feels really beat up everywhere, shoulders, hips, quads, glutes,.... I'd say its the worst DOMS that I've ever had from squats, even more than when I first started. Do you think I shouldn't be going to PR's every max effort squat workout ( which really isn't all that often )? Do you think it's because I do switch up max effort exercises so my body doesn't adapt, which is a good thing, so I just need to deal with the DOMS. Do you think it means that I'm ready to start squatting in gear ( I've ordered a squat suit, but haven't gotten it yet )?

GerSmith
11-25-2008, 01:45 PM
full geared, Full ROM squat PR attempts come around only @ meets for me. Whats the point in PRing in the gym if you are a competitive powerlifter? if you just like to train for strength with no competition in mind or are a beginner, i would plan out training cycles and max out at the end of them, that way you can assess whether the program was good or not. best of luck on your quest for new PRs

EDIT: keep a track of your program and rep PRs or exercise PRs that way you can see if you make progress the next time you attempt that particular rep range max or exercise

also remember to deload every few weeks or so, rep work only. dont mistake DOMs for a fried CNS!

Reko
11-25-2008, 01:54 PM