PDA

View Full Version : Post Turkey Day Cut

yankeekd25
11-29-2008, 10:03 AM
It's time for me to cut. I've been bulking for a few months now and have put on some size, but fat as well. I'm 205-210 pounds, I'd say ~ 15-17% BF. I'm looking to cut down to 185ish. Then see how my physique is from there.

2300 cals
200 grams of protein
100 grams of fats
150 grams of carbs.

Thoughts? I maintain at 2500-2700 calories.

HIIT ~3x a week
Jog once or twice

I was doing BGB and saw great results. What type of routine should I be doing while on my cut?

Irish Pilot
11-29-2008, 11:54 AM
Im right there with ya man. Started my cut yesterday.

Many suggest that you stay on your routine when you cut, just add cardio. If you saw gains from the program you are on you could just stick with it. I personally changed my routine, but I was doing pretty high volume and I think that would kill me at a caloric deficit. I would also suggest dropping down two your Mx cals for about two weeks (read that several places) before you drop into your deficit. All in an effort to keep the muscle you've earned. Read up on HIIT vs LISS. Still highly debated. I think as long as you keep your HIIT away from your weight training you should be fine. Personally I am going to do LISS post weights and HIIT on rest days.

Best of luck!

KingWilder
11-29-2008, 12:14 PM
Take two weeks at maintenance calories as stated above....good brief write-up on gaining/cutting by Lyle over at bodyrecomposition

So letís put some numbers and guidelines to this.

1. First and foremost, for reasons outlined in my article Initial Body Fat and Body Composition Changes, trainees should not be starting out their muscle gaining phase too fat. Males should be ~10-12% body fat before even considering going on any kind of Ďbulkí (fatter trainees can usually gain some muscle while losing fat with a basic recomposition plan; this is beyond the scope of this article). For a female, this would be roughly equivalent to 19-24% body fat.