PDA

View Full Version : Metabolism

Whuditdew
01-06-2009, 03:36 PM
Is it possible that my metabolism is just too high to gain weight? All of my Uncles were extremely skinny until after they graduated high school, and I have been eating well above sustaining calories for four months now (and doing starting strength) with little increase in my weight.

malkore
01-06-2009, 04:38 PM
no. you can gain weight. you need to eat more.

obviously you are not eating more than your maintenance calorie intake....or you'd be gaining weight.

formulas to determine caloric needs are not perfect. they can be good to estimate a starting point, but we're all too unique for a simple formula based on age, weight, hieght and gender to truly work.

you'll have to list an exact day's food intake and calorie/macro counts, plus your age, height, weight, gender and how 'active' you are (do you do seated deskwork 40 hours a week...or are you a construction worker? the two jobs have radically different calorie needs) for us to give advice.

Whuditdew
01-06-2009, 09:28 PM
no. you can gain weight. you need to eat more.

obviously you are not eating more than your maintenance calorie intake....or you'd be gaining weight.

formulas to determine caloric needs are not perfect. they can be good to estimate a starting point, but we're all too unique for a simple formula based on age, weight, hieght and gender to truly work.

you'll have to list an exact day's food intake and calorie/macro counts, plus your age, height, weight, gender and how 'active' you are (do you do seated deskwork 40 hours a week...or are you a construction worker? the two jobs have radically different calorie needs) for us to give advice.

I ate 2800 calories a day all of December (600 above maintenance) and I only gained one pound.

I don't do any physical activity outside of lifting in the winter.

Also I had to constantly eat, which conflicted with my schedule when I had to eat so much.

Ben Moore
01-06-2009, 09:38 PM