PDA

View Full Version : Shoulder Pain from Squatting???

Sicken
01-13-2009, 05:48 AM
So for a while now I have been having some issues with squatting and shoulder pain. It is not from squatting itself but when I reach back and hold the bar. It is about exactly on top of my shoulder right where your arm meets your torso(the rotator cuff area). This also happens with behind the presses. I have this pain in both shoulders but it is alot worse in my right one. What could be causing this? Anything I could do to make it more fexible so reaching back and grabbing the bar is not as much of a struggle? I have no history of shoulder/rotator cuff injuries.

Thanks for reading

jefflance1
01-13-2009, 07:13 AM
I am no expert but I can tell you a few months back I started to experience some serious shoulder pain(rotator cuff area) with weakness after benching. At first I thought it was my benching that was causing the problem but ultimately I figured out it was from squatting. My problem was my form was bad and I was supporting the weight with my arms instead of the weight riding on my shoulders. With my arms pulled back it was putting to much stress on my shoulders when I went heavy which caused me some serious pain. I have since read through Rippetoe's Starting Strength and corrected my problem with where the weight rests in a squat and the pain is subsiding. I still have a little pain after a heavy bench day but I have not lost strength again and the pain is only just a low ache. If this isn't your problem sorry about wasting your time but maybe someone else can gain some insight instead of having serious pain like I went through.

NUCadet97
01-13-2009, 07:13 AM