PDA

View Full Version : I'm not sure I'm ready for a Westside routine (yet)

Szust
02-03-2009, 08:54 PM
I've been doing westside for about 9 months now, and I don't think I'm anywhere near where I should be to use it. I understand the concepts behind how it works, but my maxes aren't high enough for me not to be doing more repetition work and perfecting my form. I've only been lifting for a little over a year. I find myself constantly trying to force new maxes, which I'm sure will soon end in injury. What do you all think? What should I switch to?

BigTallOx
02-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Personally, I think the westside routine is the only way to go. Nothing about it says not to focus on form. I pretty much do a westside routine and I'm ALWAYS working on my form for every exercise I do.

Szust
02-03-2009, 09:20 PM
Personally, I think the westside routine is the only way to go. Nothing about it says not to focus on form. I pretty much do a westside routine and I'm ALWAYS working on my form for every exercise I do.

Sorry, that's not at all what I meant. I was distracted while writing my first post. What I meant to say is I don't think I've had enough experience lifting to squat heavily once a month and hope for a new max. Maybe if I switched DE for repetition effort every other week?

Travis Bell
02-03-2009, 09:31 PM
Volume, volume volume.

you aren't getting enough time under the bar so you can do one of two things. 1)add another ME exercise or 2)hit your max on your ME movement and then hit that same weight for a single several more times.

This is key to making Westside work. You should be doing comparable volume to what myself or any other Westsider does. You just have to fill that volume requirement differently

Szust
02-03-2009, 09:41 PM
Volume, volume volume.

you aren't getting enough time under the bar so you can do one of two things. 1)add another ME exercise or 2)hit your max on your ME movement and then hit that same weight for a single several more times.