PDA

View Full Version : Squat Vids For a Laugh and For Help!

huskybear
02-16-2009, 08:53 PM
Alright... finally nutted up and got some video...

today was 3x5 (75-80-85%) for the 5/3/1 program I've been using.

I struggle with the squats these days and I'm not sure what to do... I'm up I'm down, no pun intended!

Please help me with advice on improving... I think the angle was crap too, but that's the cost of training alone!

Hwkgn4K_EHc

mFAlI1BuWcE

oijk69whOwc

fpr
02-16-2009, 10:09 PM
I'm no expert at squatting, but a few things I noticed right off the bat based off of the last two vids (first one wasn't greatest view):

1. You're high
2. Knees look like they are probably crossing past the toes
3. Your entire upper body seems to be leaning forward as you come descend
4. You seem to be swaying as you go down and come back up

I think you'll be able to fix a couple of these by trying to "sit back" more.

Some of the more experienced guys will be able to tell you about your form with no question.

Good luck.

Ben Moore
02-16-2009, 10:16 PM
You're not that high. Get yourself set before you begin the rep. Big breath, push out your abs and set everything tight. As you descend, sit back like FPR told you. Push your knees out and return to start. Get some vid from the front next time and we'll be able to tell you a little more.

foth
02-17-2009, 01:38 AM
You're not that high. Get yourself set before you begin the rep. Big breath, push out your abs and set everything tight. As you descend, sit back like FPR told you. Push your knees out and return to start. Get some vid from the front next time and we'll be able to tell you a little more.

what do you mean push out your abs?

Ben Moore
02-17-2009, 08:27 AM
It's more of a feeling than anything and hard to explain, but instead of getting a big chest full of air, fill your belly with air and push out your stomach. It tightens your core and makes you more stable.

RAT
02-17-2009, 09:05 AM