PDA

View Full Version : Help me design a powerlifting routine

iForce Dave
02-26-2009, 04:07 PM
Hey guys,

I just joined this site and was looking for some help on putting a routine together. I have been bodybuilding (NPC) for about 2 years now, but really want to focus on powerlifting. It has always intrigued me but I never followed it.

The only thing is, I train solo. I dont have a lifting partner nor do I want one. I can get a spotter for max efforts, but I cant do something that must always have a spotter.

Anyone care to share a good basic routine that I could do on my own? My gym has all the equipment: power cages with adjustable lockout bars, Squat Racks, etc etc.

I have done some 5x5 and also did DoggCrapp for awhile, but never just straight up powerlifting. I read the stickies but dont really know where to start! West Side Barbell seems to be a great program, but I dont know exactly how to set up a program I can do on my own.

THANKS GUYS! I am looking forward to being a part of this board.

MarcusWild
02-26-2009, 04:32 PM
Why don't you want a training partner? Powerlifters almost always train in groups. Do you plan on competing raw or in gear?

rbtrout
02-26-2009, 04:48 PM
I've never competed and probably won't. I train alone, but can get spotters, as well. I'd look into EFS and check out some of the basic pling routines over there.

Rusty
02-26-2009, 04:50 PM
The best advice I can give you, is to go find a powerlifting gym.

You can start a basic template like:

Mon - ME squat
Wed - ME bench
Fri - DE squat
Sun - DE bench

Throw in supplementary work and accessory work after your major movements.

EFS also has a wealth of reading material that will tell you almost everythign you need to know.

slashkills
02-26-2009, 04:50 PM
Westside barbell is a great routine. Here is a link to help design a westside routine.
http://www.elitefitness.com/forum/weight-training-weight-lifting/westside-barbell-basic-template-469668.html
it helped me a lot.

geoffsherman