PDA

View Full Version : Squat form help

mike95763
03-05-2009, 10:18 PM
I just watched a resonably good video of myself squatting for the first time and it was very very ugly. My lower back rounds almost right away and my upper back rounds at depth. Also I end up leaning forwards a ton. I have read over and over that I am supposed to sit back and keep a tight arch etc but I have no clue how to go about doing that. I have seen the squat Rx videos and know what I should be doing, I just have no idea how to make my body do it. If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.

dGMjHjES7Os

The box is ~1 inch below parallel but the angle sucks, anyways I am sure you can all see how bad the form is. Any help would be great

BigTallOx
03-05-2009, 11:24 PM
Not that I'm an expert by any means, but my understanding is that the lower back rounding is caused by either lack of hamstring flexibility or a weak lower back. Maybe the upper back rounding could be solved by looking up.

Maybe I'm wrong, but to me it looks like you loose tightness while you're walking the weight out, I'm guessing because you're trying to find the box.

MarcusWild
03-06-2009, 12:25 AM
Your knees come really far forward too. I think that's causing some of your issues. You want to push your butt back 10-12", then break your knees and push your knees out as you sit back more. Your knees are going to want to move. Make sure you push them out instead of letting them go forward.

Try sitting on a box. Then move your feet out in front so your shins are angle back at you. Now try to squat up off the box. You can only do it if you fire your glutes first. If you fire your quads first, you won't be able to get up. Once you can fire off the box, you'll know how a squat should feel.

In general, I think everyone can benefit from training lower back, abs, glutes, and hamstrings. It's hard to tell which one is specifically your issue.

MBertrand
03-06-2009, 03:27 AM