PDA

View Full Version : Dan's First Competition Journal!

Pages : [1] 2

danmac
03-09-2009, 10:44 AM
Alright so a little about me first. I don't know if anyone will read this, but it will at least give me a place to record my progress and maybe get some tips from experienced members.

I started lifting weights when i was 16 at 125 lbs. Didn't touch my legs and did the classic one body part a day routine till i was about 21. I gained about 25 pounds in the first year and stayed there. A year or two i discovered this site, which lead to reading starting strength and i started squatting and deadlifting. I fell in love with being stronger and now at 23 I weigh in just shy of 200.

So I have decided to compete in July 2009. I am struggling to find a good gym in the area that supports powerlifting but ill do what i can for now. My personal gym bests are -

Squat - 385 (EDIT: Current 515 singly ply (probably high but **** everyone), 415 no wraps)
Dead - 455 (EDIT: Current 507)
Bench - 335 (EDIT: Current 345 raw, 408 paused single ply)

I hope to shatter my squat record this friday, I am training with a really experienced squatter who is going to teach me how to wrap my knees.
I will be doing my first competition raw and I planned to be a lifetime natural. As i post my workouts please post if you see any issues.

Thanks for reading!

Dan

danmac
03-09-2009, 03:55 PM
Monday March 9 - Deadlift Day
Feeling tired today, back was a bit sore from last week.

Deadlift -
135x5
225x5
315x5
405x3
415x3
415x3
405x3

Pullups -
BWx10
BW+45 x 10
BW+45 x 10
BW + 45 x 7
BWx10

DB Curls -
35x10
25x15
25x15

The deadlifts felt good today. Before this week i was always working up to one heavy set of 1-5 reps. But on the advice of an experienced powerlifter i am going to try to get a bit more volume for a bit. By the 4th heavy set i was gassing, i meant to do 5 heavy sets.