PDA

View Full Version : Too Much Protien?

mcdonough9395
03-18-2009, 06:52 PM
Ok so im home this week for spring break so i figured id take advantage of all the good food here at home and eat as much as possible. When my mom saw how much meat, fish, chicken, eggs, milk, shakes and so on i was eating she tells me ... "make sure your not eating too much protien ... too much protien isent good." Now i know getting too much milk and cheese and such can cause calcium build ups and cause kidney stones if you dont drink enough water. However outside of that is there any truth to eating TOO much protien? I doubt she has any idea what shes talking about but was just wonder if there was any truth behind this?

CASH
03-18-2009, 10:10 PM
I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure there is no "risk" involved with getting too much protien. I think the key is not having too much in one sitting because the body can only process about 40-50 g at once.

Mercuryblade
03-18-2009, 10:57 PM
I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure there is no "risk" involved with getting too much protien. I think the key is not having too much in one sitting because the body can only process about 40-50 g at once.

How much you can actually absorb is dependent on the person, but it is much higher than that.
As far as "too much protein" if you aren't drinking enough water you can really do a number on your kidneys. But if you are keeping yourself well hydrated you have nothing to worry about.

Tykimeister
03-18-2009, 11:27 PM
Your mom was probably concerned about your choleserol levels and not eating all that "meat". My mother sais the same thing when i go through 2 dozen eggs a week.