PDA

View Full Version : Maitenence Calories

rhymenocerous
03-21-2009, 10:56 PM
So ive been bulking for about 4 months and have put on alot of strength and a little under 20 pounds. In about 2 or 3 more weeks I want to try to cut down to lower bf% for aesthetic reasons.

From what I've gathered in talking to people, the way to go about this is to figure out what your maitenence calories should be and then gradually subtract from them. My question is what formula do I use to figure out what my maintenence calories should be and also how do i go about figuring out what my macros should be?

For the last 2 months Ive been tracking between 4,000 to 4,5000 cals a day and I really am tired of eating that much.

I weigh 210 right now and am idealy looking to get back down to the 180-190 range, if that helps.

I know this probably a ridiciously broad question but ive never had to cut before considering when i was in high school i was so active in sports my bf% was always in good shape, and now that is not the case, and i want do it right. any advice or pointing towards information would be greatly appreciated.

thanks alot.

VikingWarlord
03-21-2009, 11:18 PM
My question is what formula do I use to figure out what my maintenence calories should be

None. Formulas are worse than useless. The only way to accurately figure maintenance is to pick a point you think it might be, eat at that level, and track it. If you lose, you're below maintenance. If you gain, you're above maintenance. If you stay where you are, you found it.

how do i go about figuring out what my macros should be?

It depends on how you want to do it. You have many choices and each plan has different requirements. You will need to do a lot more reading to figure it out. Generally, you need to be below maintenance and get enough protein but to be more specific, it helps to know what your composition is right now.