PDA

View Full Version : Katana Shirt Question

I.Believe
04-15-2009, 04:53 PM
I am using an A\S Katana size 46. I am wanting to move to a more aggressive shirt.

Series of questions - bare with me: I was wondering if I should move down to a size 44 A\S Katana, get the Super Katana size 46, or go all out with a 44 in the super? I want to be able to handle the shirt. What would be the better move in your opinion? Would I get more out of a 46 Super than out of a regular 44 Katana?
Sample of last nights Bench:

Warmups
225 x 3
275 x 3
335 x 1

A\S Katana Sz46
1.5 Bd

385 x 2
425 x 2
450 x 2 Easy

2 Board 485 x 2 (Not bad..)
2.5 Board 505 x 1 (pr off 2.5 Bds)

I know it is difficult to determine this for someone you don't know, but looking for your opinion please.

Thanks!

Speedy Gonzalez
04-15-2009, 05:16 PM
Im no shirt expert like most of the pro's in here, but from my experience with my Katana going on right now actually. I had a 56 single ply Katana a/s that is so loose I can put it on and off by myself, so I figured a 56 2 ply Super Katana (SK) would be a perfect Comp. shirt..... Wrong when I got into my new 2ply SK I couldn't even get the bar to a two board, and that's with the pro's I train with trying all the tricks- Water, more reps, heavier weight, and it was still floating about 3 inches above the board in Mid-Air like a Magic Show. Maybe it will be different for you, but that's just my personal experience. Now it's just a matter of pure science/ gravity that the bar could have touched with heavier weight, I just felt I was a little to green in a shirt to fool with that tight of a shirt with weight I knew I would have an issue handling. So in closing I had to order a 58

MarcusWild
04-15-2009, 05:18 PM