PDA

View Full Version : cutting weight.., is it fair?

Kenny-SFW
04-28-2009, 06:01 AM
Over the weekend a lifter cut over 30lbs. to make a weight class. The lifter made weight and put 30lbs. back on by the day of the meet. This lifter went on to set a new record total for this weight class. Personally I give the lifter a lot of credit to do what he did, however I can't help but think that this was not what was intended when weight classes were formed.

tomv
04-28-2009, 06:20 AM
Cut 30lbs in a weekend?... Man that's berserk. I've very little experience with cutting weight or making weight or anything like that but 30lbs in 2 days? and then gained 30lbs back in one day? That seems almost impossible...

drew
04-28-2009, 06:24 AM
Everybody does it and they have done it for as long as weigh-ins have been around. It's a risk, like anything else in this sport, that some guys are willing to take.

Now stop crying and lift something Kennybear.

Kenny-SFW
04-28-2009, 06:37 AM
You know Drew.., I never liked you, my little bear

mattdunkin
04-28-2009, 06:40 AM