PDA

View Full Version : Can a bench shirt be too tight?

jmccown
04-28-2009, 12:43 PM
I'm totally new to bench shirts and I got my F-6 about 3 weeks ago. I've used it 3 times and keep thinking it is too tight. I can't get the sleeves past my elbows and I can't get the shirt to seat properly in my armpits and behind my shoulders. My chest measures right at 50" unflexed. I have gotten the shirt to touch but it just doesn't feel right still. Being new to bench shirts I honestly don't know if it feels right or wrong. Should I have gone to a size 52 for my first shirt?

MarcusWild
04-28-2009, 12:59 PM
You can use a mini football to stretch the sleeves a little. Just deflate it, stick it in there and inflate it. It helps if you wet it. If you can get it all the way on and set your shoulders back to setup, then it's not too small. If you can't get it all the way on, then it might be too small. These things stretch though, especially single-ply. If you can have someone a little smaller than you wear it 1-2 times to break it in that'd be a good idea.

Travis Bell
04-28-2009, 01:01 PM
Sounds like the chest fit is right so like Marcus said, use some footballs to stretch the arms a little bit. Don't leave them in there for too long though otherwise they will get too big.

jmccown
04-28-2009, 01:03 PM
I'll try the ball trick. how long we talking on leaving the balls in the sleeve, overnight, a few hours? I think if I can get the sleeves farther up it will fit better. Thanks for the tip!

Detard
04-28-2009, 01:11 PM
I had this issue aswell. I couldnt get it seated properly because of my arms. We cut the sleeves right at the top of the "T" where it says Titan on the sleeves. It fits alot better now, and I can get it seated properly. I'm not sure what fed your lifting in, so check the rules first.

If it feels like someone is cutting you with a dull blade, its on properly.

Travis Bell
04-28-2009, 01:24 PM